Drug Possession Charges by Attorney Carlos Gonzalez

According to the St. Augustine Police Department, on May 26th, police officers got a tip about a suspicious woman who was sitting in a car on the side of a local highway. After the police arrived at the scene, they found a woman who was operating a vehicle without a driver’s license but she did have with her a Florida identification card. When the officers searched the car they reportedly discovered a plastic bag in the woman’s purse containing crystal meth. The woman’s name was Crystal Methvin. The police officer believed she was in the process of selling the drugs. Methvin was taken into custody. She faced a third-degree felony charge for possession of meth and was held in jail on a $5,000 bond. 

 A woman named Crystal Methvin got arrested for allegedly selling crystal meth. This might sound like a funny story but Florida has very serious consequences when it comes to its drug laws.   

 Florida Drug Possession Laws at a Glance

 Florida classifies illegal drugs into five schedules, based on their medical value and likelihood of abuse. Florida law refers to illegal drugs as controlled dangerous substances or CDS.

 Schedule I drugs have a high potential for abuse and no accepted medical use. Schedule I drugs include heroin and LSD.

 Schedule II drugs have a high potential for abuse but have some accepted medical use with severe restrictions. Their abuse has the potential for severe mental and physical dependence. Examples include crack, cocaine, opium, and morphine.

 Schedule III drugs have a potential for abuse less than Schedule I or II drugs, an accepted medical use, and their abuse may lead to low or moderate physical dependence and high psychological dependence. Anabolic steroids are classified as a Schedule III drug.

 Schedule IV drugs have a lower potential for abuse than Schedule III drugs, an acceptable medical use, and their abuse may lead to limited psychological and physical dependence in relation to Schedule III drugs. Diazepam is a Schedule IV drug.

 Schedule V drugs have the lowest potential for abuse, a currently accepted medical use, and have a limited risk of physical or psychological dependence. Schedule V drugs include medicines that contain very small amounts of specified narcotic drugs.

 Penalties for Possession of Illegal drugs

The severity of the penalty for drug possession varies depending on the amount of the drug found in your possession.

 Possession of more than 10 grams of any Schedule I drug is a Felony of the first degree, punishable by up to 30 years in jail, a fine of up to $10,000, or both.

 Possession of any other CDS is punishable as a Felony of the third degree, punishable by up to 5 years in prison, a fine of up to $5,000, or both.

Possession of up to 20 grams of marijuana is a first-degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to one year in prison and up to $1,000 fine, or both. More than 20 grams is a Felony of the third degree, punishable by up to 5 years in prison, a fine of up to $5,000, or both.

 For any questions or concerns regarding your case please call our office at (786) 358-6888